Jenn Hype.pngOh, where to start? Jenn is the snarkiest, sweetest, friendliest, badass chick around! I had the honor of speaking with Jenn on a personal level and to say that Adalyn in Pressing Adalyn is “loosely” based on her true personality is a gross understatement! If you haven’t read Pressing Adalyn, you are missing out on a mixture of emotions that make you wonder if you are bipolar, or maybe Jenn is. I was reading at midnight and rolling off the bed trying not to wake my daughter. Had to text Jenn to tell her just what I thought of her at that moment! Made my day

1. If you had to describe yourself using three words, it would be…

Sarcastic, snarky, facetious (I’m noticing a trend…) (Totally you!!)

2. Why did you choose to write your genre?

Errrrm… I don’t have a witty answer for this. Can I pass?

3. What is the strangest subject or topic you’ve ever written?

Well, in my second book, Playing Stacy, she has a lot of…colorful moments of inner dialogue. She talks about her vagina trying to kill her. She also talks about where someone goes to have a broken vagina fixed. The entire book had me spending a lot of time looking up synonyms for female anatomy and random ways to use words as entendres.

4. What are you currently working on?

A new series – the books won’t be as connected as the Pretending series. It’s also a tad less obnoxious but still has sarcasm and humor. I literally can’t NOT put sarcasm in my writing. I’ve tried. And failed.

5. What motivated the plot for either WIP or currently published book?

I honestly don’t know. None of my books were planned out. I literally sat down to write and what came out is what the book became. The first book, Pressing Adalyn, was loosely based off my own life as far as character personalities go. 

6. What was the hardest story for you to write?

Probably the third book, Pursuing Carrie. I went back and forth during the writing process about how I wanted the story to go. I have the least in common with Carrie, and I kept veering towards putting myself into her character and then having to go back and change it. Getting into the mindset of being someone else is difficult for me at times. My own craziness likes to creep in and take over.

7. What process do you use to plan your novels?

At most I might plan out a one sentence description. My characters develop as they go and the story takes on a life of itself when I write, and it might go in the complete opposite direction of how I intentionally set out. Plus I’m not big on sticking to rules, even my own, so I don’t like the story being plotted out before it’s written.

8. Who has been your favorite character? Why?

Probably Ian from Pressing Adalyn. He was loosely based off my husband, looks and personality wise. His heart and compassion were definitely qualities my hubby has.     

9. Do any of your characters reflect facets of your personality?

All of them in some respect have parts of me in them, but definitely Adalyn for sure. Her searching for her place in life, her hateful sarcasm as a way of keeping people at arm’s length and knack for overreacting before having all the facts. That’s me. Nailed it.  (OMG, I about peed my pants!)

 10. What is the best thing you have done in your life?

That’s a vague question. I suppose I should say something like had babies or something? How do I gauge what the best thing I’ve done myself is? Ask me what the dumbest or most embarrassing thing I’ve ever done is. I’ve got those stories in spades.

 11.If you were to choose another genre to write in, what would it be? Why?

I don’t think I would write in another genre, at least not at this point in time.  

12. Which authors inspire you?

Oh my gosh, SO many. My top three would Samanthe Beck, N.A. Alcorn and Lex Martin for sure

13. What novel would you read multiple times?

I can’t read a book more than once usually unless another one in the series comes out and I need refreshed on what happened.  

14. If you could meet anyone in the world, alive or deceased, who would it be and why? (Person could be a fictional character)

JIMMY FALLON. Nuff said. (I couldn’t agree more!!!)

15. What is your favorite quote?

Be a do-er not a me too-er.   

16. What is your favorite animal, real or imaginary?

Koala bears.

 17. If you were to create a slogan for your life, what would it be? (Example: Eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow, we all die.)

If you can’t say something nice, say it sarcastically. (I’m seeing a trend!)

18. Is writing a full-time or part-time career? If part-time, what’s your other job?

Part-time. I was working full time in the dental field, but now I’m working full time as a momma.

19. If we Googled your name what would we see?

Jenn Hype is my pen name, so probably nothing all too exciting. My real name is a whole other answer.

20. If you could have been told one thing that you weren’t told when you were a teenager, what would you like to have heard?

That’s too deep of a question for me. My brain can’t wrap around it.

22. You have multiple personalities, describe some of them.
How did you know that? Is this a question you ask everyone? Who have you been talking to? Whatever they said it’s a lie. No, but really, I only have one other personality and her name is Tameka. She likes to rap and is not afraid to get all sassy on yo ass

23. Name one of your favorite things about someone in your family.
My hubby is a computer nerd, and I love it. It’s so hot watching him type code. Seriously.

 24. Tell us about a unique or quirky habit of yours.
I don’t know that any of my habits are necessarily unique or quirky. I think most might say annoying, excessive and stupid. They would probably be right.

 25. If you could no longer write what would you do instead?
Whatever tickled my fancy at the time. Never know from day to day what that will be.

26. What’s your fave book/series and author?
THE INFAMOUS SERIES BY N.A. ALCORN. That sh*t needs to be said in all caps because that’s how much I love it. The funniest books you will ever read in your entire life.

 27. What started your interest in writing?
I love to read. I got away from it for a while when I had kids, and once I started back up, I couldn’t stop. It wasn’t until I read N.A. Alcorn’s books that I considered actually writing my own book. She broke the mold so severely with her Infamous series.

28. When not writing, do you have a hobby?
I used to sing. We had a makeshift recording studio in our basement where I would record. Don’t ask – I’m not telling you how to find my YouTube page.

 29. How do you manage to do 5,000 things at once? Have you cloned yourself?
I don’t “manage” – I just do. And that’s because I’m A.D.D. – not because I’m awesome at multitasking.

30. If you could no longer write what would you do instead?
Who knows. Probably stalk people full time.

31. If you could only drink one thing for the rest of your life what would it be?
RED BULL.

32. What Author would you like to have dinner with to pick their brain?
Samanthe Beck

33. If you could have dinner with anyone famous, living or dead, who would you choose?
ELLEN! Man, I love her.

 34. If no one read your books/writing (I know, not possible, but… smile emoticon ) would you still write?
Most likely. When I started off writing it was just to see if I could do it. I had no idea if I was any good at it or if people would even like my books if they happened to read them.

35. Who is your book boyfriend?
Do I really have to pick just one? If I HAD to pick one, I’d say Nate Peters from Kirsty Moseley’s Enjoying The Chase.

36. Would you share the secret for your awesome scheduling? You write, read, review, and give well thought out advice to aspiring writers. Please share.
I do what I can when I can. Sometimes it’s a lot, sometimes it’s very little. Life gets in the way and living by a schedule only creates stress.

