Such a positive spin on how hard it can be to be an author but knowing you just have to take a breath then do it all over again the next day. Remember to stop and breathe every not and again.

ruthgjuliano

Yeah, I’m tired of hawking my wares right now. It happens. Promo is tough. Especially when you’re selling an unpopular concept.  I’m not giving up, I’m just a little tired. Selling ice blocks on a hot day – easy. Selling books about real life struggles and crime – hard.  Escapism. Do you know what that is? Of course you do.

Escapism – the tendency to seek distraction and relief from unpleasant realities, especially by seeking entertainment or engaging in fantasy.

The bind? My books deal with unpleasant realities and how people cope with them.  Most people  want to shuffle off the drudgery of their reality by escaping into someone else’s amazing life of thrills, hot sex, dreamy romance, alien places or sexy vampires and animal shapeshifter lovers.

How does the author who writes in a direct and simple way about realistic crime and love fit into escapism? Easy. I fit…

View original post 236 more words

